Pérouges (pop. 850) is a picture-perfect village, to say the least as it has been a popular destination for making period films and was the set of The Three Musketeers film in 1973. The walled village lies northeast of Lyon, perched on a hill that overlooks the Ain River plains. 

The village is said to be founded by a Gallic colony that was returning from Italy and even after coming under Roman control later, Pérouges managed to remain communally free. The village has always been populated by craftsmen and developed well in the 14th and 15th centuries, under the influence of the local wine and weaving industries. Much of present-day Pérouges’ yellow-stone façade is a result of its medieval heyday. Thanks to the restoration works in 1911, the village still attracts many tourists.

Pérouges is guarded by two medieval gates- La Porte d’en Haute (Upper Gate) and La Porte d’en Bas (Lower Gate). Both gates feature giant arches and were constructed from big black boulders. Right beside La Porte d’en Haute lies a French historic monument- the town’s Fortress church of
St Mary Magdalen, which was built in the 15th century remaining pretty much the same. In the centre of the village stands the famous arbre de la Liberté (Liberty Tree) which was planted soon after the French Revolution. The tree is surrounded by beautiful stone buildings that lead down to pretty cobbled streets such as Rue des Routes featuring a 33m deep well, and Rue des Princes,a merchant street with old shops. 

You can head to Pérouges for a historical and picturesque day trip which can be topped off by savouring the local galettes- sweet tarts, served warmed with crusted sugar.





   1. Tourism Office  2. La Porte d’en Haute  3. La Porte d’en Bas  4. Fortress church of St Mary Magdalen

Javascript is required to view this map.