Palais du Trocedéro: 16e

The Palais du Trocedéro was built by Gabriel Davioud for the 1878 Paris World Fair. Located on the Chaillot hill, the Moorish-looking palace was a concert hall that stood atop an aquarium (rare postcards have managed to capture its image). However, the old palace of Trocedéro was demolished to make way for the Palais Chaillot that stands there today. While the old building has been lost, its great view of the Eiffel Tower, Left Bank and Jardins du Trocadero still remains.