Palais RoyalOriginally known as Palais Cardinal, Palais Royal [1 Place du Palais Royal] was once the personal residence of Cardinal Richelieu and the accommodations of a young Louis XIV. Completed in 1639, the palace eventually became the state’s possession upon the passing of the Cardinal. From then on, it was constantly maintained by the government, with constant upgrading that led to its neoclassical exterior that you see now. Having housed many nobles in its heydays, the palace was noted for its huge courtly gatherings. As such, the building comprises of and is surrounded by many notable spaces.
 
At present, the palace is home to the Conseil d’État(State Counsel) and hence, is closed to the public. Right opposite is the Comédie Francaise – the world’s oldest state theatre and the only one with its own troupe. Jardin du Palais Royal – a charming, well-landscaped park lies north of the palace, while the royal courtyard plays home to Daniel Buren’s famous Les Colonnes de Buren also known as Les Deux Plateaux- a 3000 square meter space that is filled with the artist’s black and white striped columns of differing heights.