Paris 1er L'Orangerie Monet 'Nymphaes'Musée de l’Orangerie [Jardin des Tuileries +33 144778007  ad/ch €7.50/5] lies in the southwestern corner of the Tuileries gardens and is one of the remaining fragments of the Palais des Tuileries, which was destroyed during the Paris Commune.

Recently reopened in 2006, the museum has been functioning since 1927. Dedicated to impressionist and post-impressionist art, the museum began its exhibitory journey by displaying Claude Monte’s famous arrangement of water lily paintings (Nympheas). It has also housed a Walter-Guillane collection since 1965, as well as a modern collection featuring works by Cézanne, Renoir, Picasso, Rousseau, Matisse and many more.

The museum stands on the banks of the Seine where the old orangery (greenhouse or conservatory for citrus trees) of the palace used to be.