At the border of of Langudoc and Provence, on an escarpment of the Rhône River just across from Avignon , sleepy Villeneuve-lès-Avignon [pop.12,800] is the perfect place from which to explore Provence, Languedoc, and Camargue. It is often called the City of Cardinals as many members of the papal court at Avignon (in Vaucluse Department) built their residences across the Rhône in Villeneuve and treated the town as a suburb. Sometimes written Villeneuve-lez-Avignon, the town began in the 10th century around Saint André Abbey.

It will only take around half an hour to walk the 3km between Avignon and Villeneuve. There is also a bus (number 11) from the Avignon post office. The sights in Villeneuve are easy to get around on foot.

Le Fort Saint André [+33 4 90254535, Adults €5] was built in the 14th century to protect the town and the Benedictine Abbey du Saint Andre. King Philippe le Bel sought to oppose the power of the popes at Avignon and reassert the authority of the crown. The Philip the Fair Tower [+33 4 32700857, Adults €2] was built to help control traffic over Pont Saint Bénézet.  At 39 metres high, it offers lovely views of both Villeneue and Avignon.

In the past, Chartreuse du Val de Benediction [54 rue de la République, +33 4 90152424, Adults €6.50] was the largest Carthusian monastery in France. It began when Pope Innocent VI donated the property to the Carthusian order upon his election to papal office. The monastery consists of one church with three cloisters and surrounding cells, which have been carefully preserved and reconstucted to give visitors a feel for life as a monk.

Musée Pierre du Luxumberg [3 rue de las République, +33 4 90274966, Adults €3] was founded in 1868 and has been located in Cardinal Ceccano's palace since 1989. The collection brings together items from the Abbey Saint Andre and the Chartreuse du Val de Benediction.